X: farewell album for the Los Angeles band

X: farewell album for the Los Angeles band

The Xborn in 1977 in Los Angeles, have announced a new album: “Smoke & Fiction”, out August 2 via Fat Possum. The next release follows “Alphabetland” of 2020 and announces itself like the punk group’s latest album American.

In addition to the album, X have announced a farewell tour. The shows, all in America, will begin in July and run until October.

With the announcement of the release of their new work, X released a single with video entitled “Big Black

The original members of X – the singer Exene Cervenkathe singer and bassist John Doethe guitarist Billy Zoom and the drummer DJ Bonebrake – they created “Smoke & Fiction”, collaborating again with the producer of “Alphabetland” Rob Schnapf.

X were born in Los Angeles in 1977 and in 1980 they released their first album “Los Angeles“, produced by Ray Manzarek.

In 1981 Rolling Stone America decreed their second work “Wild Gift” as album of the year

From the beginning of their career until 1987, the Los Angeles band released six albums with good public and critical acclaim.

In ’85 the guitarist Billy Zoom leaves the band replaced briefly by Dave Alvin (founder with his brother Phil dei Blasters) and then from Tony Gilkyson. In 1986 the documentary film on the Californian band was released, entitled “X:the Unheard Music”. In 1987 they published “See How We Are”, which also features the song “4th of July” composed by Dave Alvin.

After “See How We Are” the band also stops due to Exene Cervenka’s motherhood and the acting activities that involve John Doe (the band’s author). In ’93 they return (always without Zoom) and publish “Hey Zeus!” and subsequently, with the guitarist’s return to the band Billy Zoom, they dedicated themselves to live activity until the publication in 2020 of “Alphabetland”, their first album since 1993 and the first with the group’s original lineup.

Smoke & Fiction:

01 Ruby Church
02 Sweet Til the Bitter End
03 The Way It Is
04 Flipside
05 Big Black
06 Smoke & Fiction
07 Struggle
08 Winding Up the Time
09 Face in the Moon
10 Baby & All