Vampire Weekend: new album released in April

Vampire Weekend: new album released in April

After some rumors this week, i Vampire Weekend have officially announced their fifth studio work. The new album, “Only God Was Above Us,” will be released April 5 via Columbia. Two tracks from the LP, “Capricorn” And “Gen-X Cops“, will be released on February 16th.

Along with the album, Vampire Weekend announced a show at Austin’s Moody Amphitheater to celebrate thetotal solar eclipse. The show will take place on Monday 8 April.

Ezra Koenig, Chris Baio and Chris Tomson recorded the sequel to “Father of the Bride” (released in 2019) in New York, Los Angeles, London and Tokyo. Koenig produced the album with Ariel Rechtshaid and it was mixed by Dave Fridmann and mastered by Emily Lazar.

Koenig wrote most of the lyrics for “Only God Was Above Us” in 2019 and 2020. The album’s title comes from the newspaper title featured in a 1988 photograph by Steven Siegel. The photograph, titled “Subway Dream 11,” also serves as the cover of Vampire Weekend’s new album.

After releasing their first three albums in the space of five years, Vampire Weekend (whose name derives from an amateur film of that name, shot by the singer) have thinned out their subsequent releases. The new “Only God Was Above Us” follows by 5 years the latest album “Father of the Bride” which arrived in May 2019, six years after the previous “Modern Vampires of the City”. Between these two albums, founding member Rostam Batmanglij left Vampire Weekend (although he still contributed to the group’s fourth LP).

Vampire Weekend won the Grammy Award 2020 for best alternative music album for Father of the Bride.

Only God Was Above Us Tracklist:

01 Ice Cream Piano
02 Classical
03 Capricorn
04 Connect
05 Prep-School Gangsters
06 The Surfer
07 Jan-X Cops
08 Mary Boone
09 Pravda
10 Hope