Jethro Tull: reissue of live album "Bursting Out" released

Jethro Tull: reissue of live album “Bursting Out” released

The first live album by Jethro Tull, “Bursting Out”released in 1978, was remixed by Steven Wilson and will be released on June 21st as an expanded reissue on 3CD/3DVD with subtitles 'The Inflated Edition'. The box set includes, in addition to the songs recorded during the European tour in May and June 1978 in support of the album “Heavy horses”, also numerous extra contents.

The frontman and leader of the British band Ian Anderson said: “A Jethro Tull live show from the 1970s, recorded over several evenings in different locations on a portable 8-track recorder and transferred to a 2-inch multitrack when he returned home after touring.

I had to listen to many concerts and choose the best live versions. Most of them came from the concert in Bern, Switzerland, where dear Claude Nobs came to present the band in his inimitable style.”

Among the focal moments of the 'Inflated Edition' there is the entire 93-minute long concert at Madison Square Garden in New York and a video of over 50 minutes which were part of a transatlantic BBC broadcast.

Said Anderson: “A frightening experience for the band because, we were told, it would be the first time a live rock concert would be the subject of a live satellite broadcast. At that moment the band was a machine which was in full swing, even though Madison Square Garden was missing the ailing John Glascock. It serves as a fine testament to the many wonderful shows we did in the '70s before general touring fatigue and burn-out began about a year ago. year later. Enjoy vintage 70s Tull at its best.”



1. Introduction by Claude Nobs (2024 Remaster)

2. “No Lullaby” (2024 Remaster)

3. “Sweet Dream” (2024 Remaster)

4. “Skating Away (On the Thin Ice of the New Day)” (2024 Remaster)

5. “Jack-in-the-Green” (2024 Remaster)

6. “One Brown Mouse” (2024 Remaster)

7. “Heavy Horses” (2024 Remaster)

8. “A New Day Yesterday” (2024 Remaster)

9. “Medley: Flute Solo Improvisation / God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen / Bouree” (2024 Remaster)

10. “Living in the Past”

11. “Songs from the Wood” (2024 Remaster)

12. “No Lullaby”*

13. “Sweet Dream”

14. “Heavy Horses”

15. “Botanic Man”

16. “4.WD (Low Ratio)”*


1. “Thick as a Brick” (2024 Remaster)

2. “Hunting Girl” (2024 Remaster)

3. “Too Old to Rock 'n' Roll: Too Young to Die!” (2024 Remaster)

4. “Conundrum” (2024 Remaster)

5. “Minstrel in the Gallery” (2024 Remaster)

6. “Cross-Eyed Mary” (2024 Remaster)

7. “Quatrain” (2024 Remaster)

8. “Aqualung” (2024 Remaster)

9. “Locomotive Breath” (2024 Remaster)

10. “The Dambusters March” (2024 Remaster)

11. “Conundrum”*

12. “Quatrain”

13. “The Dambusters March”*


(Live at Madison Square Garden October 1978)

1. “Sweet Dream Fanfare”

2. “Sweet Dream”

3. “One Brown Mouse”

4. “Heavy Horses”

5. “Thick as a Brick”

6. “No Lullaby”

7. Flute Solo Improvisation

8. “Songs From the Wood”

9. “Quatrain”

10. “Aqualung”

11. “Locomotive Breath”

12. “The Dambusters March”

13. “A Single Man”

14. “Too Old to Rock 'n' Roll: Too Old to Die!”

15. “My God”

16. “Cross-Eyed Mary”

DVD 1 and 2: 96/24 Stereo; DD and DTS 5.1 Surround mixes; and Flat Transfer

DVD 3: Music videos from Madison Square Garden, October 1978

*-Previously unreleased