David Bowie releases “Rock 'n' Roll Star!” box set

David Bowie releases “Rock 'n' Roll Star!” box set

A new Parlophone Records box set entitled “Rock 'n' Roll Star!” will be published next June 14th and will honor David Bowie at the time of Ziggy Stardust: from the origins of the character in 1971, followed by the recording of the album “The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust” (read the review here) in 1972, and again with the numerous promotional shows and live performances.

The collection consists of 5 CDs and 1 Blu-Ray and will contain 29 unreleased tracks including early demos, outtakes, alternative versions and live recordings.

Among the goodies should be included an alternative version of .“Lady Stardust”a never heard version of the very rare one “Shadow Man” and an uptempo version of “I Can't Explain” of the WhoThat David Bowie in 1973 included on the album “Pin-ups”.

The Blu-Ray contains the 2012 remastering of the original album along with “Waiting in the Sky (Before the Starman Cameto Earth)”, an album of recordings from the 1971 Trident Studios sessions which will also be released on limited edition vinyl for the Record Store Day next April 20th.

Also included in the box are two books, a 112-page collection of liner notes, photographs and interviews, and a 36-page reproduction of Bowie's personal notebooks from that era. Below you can listen to one of the first acoustic demos of “ZiggyStardust”recorded at Haddon Hall in Beckenham, England, in March 1971.


Disc 1

1. So Long 60s (San Francisco Hotel recording) *

2. Hang On To Yourself (early demo) *

3. Lady Stardust (demo)

4. Ziggy Stardust (demo)

5. Star (Aka Stars) (demo) *

6. Soul Love (demo and DB spoken notes) *

7. Starman (demo 1 excerpt) *

8. Starman (demo 2) *

9. Moonage Daydream (The Arnold Corns version)

10. Hang On To Yourself (The Arnold Corns version)

11. Looking For A Friend (The Arnold Corns version – rough mix) *

12. Haddon Hall Rehearsals Follows: Ziggy Stardust / Holy Holy / Soul Love *

13. Star (Aka Stars) (Haddon Hall rehearsal) *

14. Sweet Head (Haddon Hall rehearsal) *

Disc 2

Sounds Of The 70s: John Peel

Session recorded on 11th January, 1972 and broadcast on 28th January, 1972

1. Ziggy Stardust *

2. Queen Bitch *

3. Waiting For The Man *

4. Lady Stardust *

Sounds Of The 70s: Bob Harris

Session recorded on 18th January, 1972 and broadcast on 7th February, 1972

5. Hang On To Yourself

6. Ziggy Stardust

7. Queen Bitch

8. Waiting For The Man

9. Five Years

Old Gray Whistle Test Performance

Filmed on 7th February, 1972 and broadcast on 8th February, 1972

except 'Oh! You Pretty Things' which was not broadcast until 1982.

10. Oh! You Pretty Things (take 1)

11. Queen Bitch

12. Five Years

Disc 3

Sounds Of The 70s: John Peel

Session recorded on 16th May, 1972 and broadcast on 23rd May, 1972

1. White Light/White Heat

2. Moonage Daydream

3. Hang On To Yourself

4. Suffragette City

5. Ziggy Stardust

Johnnie Walker Lunchtime Show

Session recorded on 22nd May, 1972 and broadcast from 5th – 9th June, 1972

6. Starman

7. Space Oddity


9. Oh! You Pretty Things

Sounds Of The 70s: Bob Harris

Session recorded on 23rd May, 1972 and broadcast On 19th June, 1972

10. Andy Warhol

11. Lady Stardust

12. White Light/White Heat

13. Rock 'N' Roll Suicide

Top Of The Pops Performance

Filmed on 5th July, 1972 and broadcast on 6th July, 1972

14. Starman

Disc 4

1. Round And Round

2. The Supermen (Ziggy session version)

3. Holy Holy (Ziggy session version)

4. Velvet Goldmine (Ziggy session outtake)

5. Starman (original single mix)

6. John, I'm Only Dancing (original single version)

Recorded Live At The Music Hall, Boston.

Recorded on 1st October, 1972

7. The Supermen


9. Life On Mars?

10. My Death *

11. John, I'm Only Dancing

Disc 5

1. Looking For A Friend (The Arnold Corns version 2022 mix) *

2. Hang On To Yourself (early Ziggy session take) *

3. Star (take 5 alternative versions) *

4. Lady Stardust (take 1 alternative version) *

5. Shadow Man (Ziggy session version) *

6. The Supermen (Ziggy session version 2023 Mix) *

7. Holy Holy (Ziggy session version alternative mix) *

8. Round And Round (alternative mix)

9. It's Gonna Rain Again (Ziggy session outtake) *

10. Looking For A Friend (Ziggy session version) *

11. Velvet Goldmine (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix) *

12. Sweet Head (Ziggy sessions outtake 2022 mix) *

13. Starman (Top Of The Pops version 2022 mix)

14. John, I'm Only Dancing (alternative Trident Studios version) *

15. I Can't Explain (Trident Studios version) *

Bonus Mix

16. Moonage Daydream (2003 instrumental mix)