Keith Richards rereads Velvet Underground

Keith Richards rereads Velvet Underground

The hoarse voice, a beat, piano and the unmistakable guitar that enters: Keith Richards has transformed one of Lou Reed's most iconic songs into a Rolling Stones-style rock 'n' roll: “I'm waiting for the man” is the first extract from “The power of the heart”, a new tribute album to Lou Reed edited by Light In The Attic, the label that is curating the publications of the artist's archives.
The album arriving on April 20th on vinyl for Record Store Day and simultaneously on CD and digital on the platforms.

The song was originally released in 1967 on “The Velvet Underground & Nico”: Keef's version is simultaneously both very respectful, and personal and original, with almost bluesy hints. A great little gem.

“For me, Lou was unique, he was real, something really important to American music and all music! I miss him and his dog,” Richards said. Also in the lineup are Rufus Wainwright (“Perfect day”), Rickie Lee Jones (“Walk on the Wild Side”), Lucinda Williams (“Legendary Hearts”): “This tribute album defies genres, but its underlying theme, in the end , is its heart: a collection of songs that shaped a generation, each paying homage to a man whose work still resonates.”
The album will be released in physical format in a limited edition for Record Store Day and it will be possible to purchase it in digital format on the label's website starting from the same day, April 20th.

The CD and digital versions will have a bonus track, the song that gives the collection its title, “The power of the heart” in Brogan Bentley's version. The song is the last unreleased solo song released by Reed, in 2008, as a declaration to his wife Laurie Anderson. As it stands now, though. explain from Light in The Attic to Rockol, a release of Lou Reed's version is not planned.

The tracklist

These are the songs and artists included in “The power of the heart – a tribute to Lou Reed”

A1 Keith Richards – I'm Waiting for the Man
A2 Maxim Ludwig & Angel Olsen – I Can't Stand It
A3 Rufus Wainwright – Perfect Day
A4 Joan Jett and the Blackhearts – I'm So Free
A5 Bobby Rush – Sally Can't Dance
A6 Rickie Lee Jones – Walk on the Wild Side
B1 The Afghan Whigs – I Love You, Suzanne

B2 Mary Gauthier – Coney Island Baby
B3 Lucinda Williams – Legendary Hearts
B4 Automatic – New Sensations
B5 Rosanne Cash – Magician

Bonus track (CD & Digital): Brogan Bentley – The Power of The Heart