Decemberists: Release a 19-minute single

Decemberists: Release a 19-minute single

The American quintet Decemberists has anticipated the next album entitled “As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again” with a new song, “Joan In The Garden”, a crescendo of 19 minutes. This is the band's first musical novelty in six years now.

The band will release its ninth album “As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again” on June 19th. This is the sequel to “I'll Be Your Girl” of 2018.

Singer Colin Meloy explains.

“Joan In The Garden is an idea that has been around since the 'I'll Be Your Girl' sessions. I became passionate about Joan of Arc after reading Lydia Yuknavitch's beautiful novel, The Book of Joan. I wanted to do my version of Giovanna, but the song that came out was as much about the creative process as it was about the woman herself, about the angelic visit and the creative visit and the hallucinogenic quality of both.”

“As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again” is the band's first intentional, full-fledged double album, split into four thematic sides, as well as the Decemberists' longest album to date.

The album was produced by the singer Colin Meloy and from Tucker Martine and sees the participation of Mike Mills of REM And James Mercer of The Shins.

The Decemberists: As It Ever Was, So It Will Be Again
The Tracklist

1. Burial Ground
2. Oh No!
3. The Reapers
4. Long White Veil
5. William Fitzwilliam
6. Don't Go to the Woods
7. The Black Maria
8. All I Want Is You
9. Born to the Morning
10. America Made Me
11. Tell Me What's on Your Mind
12. Never Satisfied
13. Joan In The Garden